Amazing Grace in My Life

Standard

We are all products of our environment – good or bad.  Luckily, my family was just plain crazy, dysfunctional and generally good.  Not everyone can say that – I’m not saying that we were normal, that there weren’t bad times – but I think the good times far outweighed the bad times – or at least in my memory they do.  My sisters may disagree with me – but this is my blog and I get to tell the story the way I remember it.  If my sisters want to dispute my facts – let them write their own blogs!

One thing we need to clarify before we go any further is the whole notion of ‘normal.’  What is normal?  Is normal a stay-at-home Mom who bakes cookies and talks in a sugary sweet voice to her children all the time?  Is normal the Mom who works outside the home, who is a little stressed at times and definitely crazy most of the time?  Is normal a two-parent, one-parent or grandparent household?  Who knows?  My personal opinion is that there is no such thing as normal.  The only thing a home should be is full of is love – and my case, that came in the form of Amazing Grace – my mom, A. Grace Hogan.

We all have those people in our lives who truly shapes the person we become – whether we want to or not.  Sometimes it’s our parents, sometimes it’s a close friend, sometimes it’s a hero – fictional or real.   We can either choose that person – or God just gives us to that person and sits backs and waits for the result.  In my case, since God definitely has a sense of humor (if you don’t believe that, just look at a platypus!) – I was given to a family which definitely puts the ‘fun’ back in dysfunctional.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Reasons I’m Thankful I Was Raised In Gunnison, CO « Pages from my Crazy Life

  2. Pingback: Ain’t that purty? « Pages from my Crazy Life

  3. Pingback: A New Year – A New Promise « Pages from my Crazy Life

  4. Pingback: Optimism | Pages from my Crazy Life

Leave a Reply

