Where can I hide the Girl Scout cookies?

Standard
Girl Scout Cookies

Image by Merelymel13 via Flickr

I just received eight boxes of Girl Scout cookies today — Thin Mints, Lemon thingies (that’s not their real name – but I can’t remember what they call them), peanut butter patties, shortbread, peanut butter sandwiches – and I can’t remember the rest of the names of the delicious morsels!  All I know is that I need to find a place to hide these from myself so I don’t gain 50 pounds just from these stupid cookies!

When all of my kids were at home, I could pretty much guarantee that 8 boxes of cookies would be gone in about 7 minutes.  I used to keep some in the trunk of my car just so I could have a treat!  I was amazed one time when a woman told me that she was had 10 boxes of cookies in her freezer – and she just didn’t know what she was going to do with those cookies now that she had her ‘new’ ones!  I think she forgot they were there – or she didn’t have children!  We’ve never had boxes of cookies which lasted longer than it took to read the box – much less a whole year!

I’ve tried putting them in a drawer I don’t open too often — but I’ll be darned if I don’t find reasons to actually open that darn drawer at least six times an evening!  I’ve tried stuffing them in the back of the freezer – but that just means my hands are cold all of the time.  I’ve tried keeping them in the trunk of the car, but I always find a reason to go to the garage!  I put them in the storage closet once, but that just meant I ate them while I was looking through some mementos!

There appears to be no safe place for these cookies — so I think I will simply have to do something drastic – I’m going to give them to my children.  Yes – it does seem a little odd that after all of those years of actually hiding the Girl Scout cookies FROM them – I’m just going to hand them over willingly.  I’m not sure if this a sign of insanity or of self-preservation.  I do know that my hips and thighs will be much happier with the cookies nowhere near them!

4 responses »

  1. I LOVE THIS STORY AND SO SO TRUE! AT LEAST YOU HAVE SOME COOKIES TO HAVE TO GIVE AWAY…..WHAT ABOUT YOUR BABY SISTER, SHE WANTS COOKIES! OH, ITS NOT CHRISTMAS YET, DANG…..LOVE YOU, MARY BETH

  2. I am puzzled Katie as to why you have a box of cookies anyway! Where did they come from?
    Take them to the local homeless shelter , they will appreciate a cookie. Yes Its ok to give them to your children but then they get fat as well, so take them where they are needed, or even the local hospital…anywhere but do not eat them yourself !!!!! Its a lot easier to put on the weight than to get it off again.

    Happy day my friend and smile as you give those biscuits away….

  3. I purchased 4 packaes of girlscout cookies and tested two. i threw the other two away, as they were just awful. A wonderful coffee cake from the local bakery is a much better buy.

Leave a Reply

