A Perfect Ending

Standard

Today was a good day.  I had a great meeting with my professional organization – Association of Insurance Compliance Professionals (AICP).  I got to see friends I haven’t seen in quite a few months.  I learned new things relevant to my job.  I reinforced old ideas relevant to my job.  I was able to help people connect with new people and find new friends through a networking workshop I conducted.  I saw people learn, laugh and enjoy the day.

However, the best part of the day involved the charity our organization had picked to support for today’s Education Day – Heartland Equine Therapeutic Riding Academy (HETRA) based in Valley, Nebraska.  In recent years we have picked a local charity and asked our members to give something back to the community.  This year, since our meeting was in Omaha, I was able to have an organization near and dear to my heart benefit from the extreme kindness of my fellow members of AICP.  I am so proud to be part of an organization that reaches out to organizations as HETRA and try to make a difference in our world.

HETRA helps disabled children and adults learn to function better through the use of horses in therapy.  Riding horses not only helps these individuals physically, but also mentally – and it is wonderful to see the changes which occur because of a love for a horse.  A young woman named Jon-Marie spoke at our meeting today and she couldn’t have said it better – “I love my horse.  I love to ride.  I love my horse.” 

HETRA has now started a program to help our disabled veterans — Horses for Heroes.  I think this is AWESOME!  These men and women will gain so much from this type of therapy. 

So – about the Perfect Ending.  For me the perfect ending involved the individuals who thanked me for introducing them to this organization and reminding them about what is really important in life.  The perfect ending was Jon-Marie’s mother telling her story to a room full of strangers and seeing the love in her face.  The perfect ending was Jon-Marie professing her love for her horse.  The perfect ending involved handing the President of HETRA an envelope with $1500 of cash to help her continue her work.   But probably the best part of the Perfect Ending was knowing that I am part of a group of people who wanted to make a difference – and they did!

Leave a Reply

