Mummies and Vampires

Standard

Better than a Mummy?

It has been a LONG weekend – and most of it is my own fault.

I have spent the weekend explaining to my granddaughter, Lizzie, that mummies are not real and no one is going to make her into a mummy.  How did she ever get such a screwy idea – well, that would be the part that is my fault!  I had just turned on the TV and was watching The Mummy (the one with Brendon Frasier).  Lizzie was outside with her grandpa – so I figured we were safe from giving the kids bad dreams – and really there isn’t any blood in it – it is all implied.  However, don’t ever underestimate the sneakiness and the imagination of small children!  Lizzie was bored with grandpa and decided to come back in the house – and was very quiet about it, I might add!  She stood behind a chair where no one could see her and started watching the movie – and of course, she comes in at the part where they are going to cut off the bad guy’s tongue and proceed to wrap him and put him into the sarcophagus!  That’s when we realized Lizzie was in the room because she started screaming like a banshee – going on and on about not letting anyone cut off her tongue and she didn’t want to be a mummy!  Needless to say, the TV was shut off immediately and we spent the rest of the weekend convincing her that the mummy was not real and she had nothing to worry about.  I thought we were past the ordeal until yesterday when I offered to fix her paper tiara she had received in Sunday School with some tape.  She immediately started wailing that she didn’t want to become a mummy – because apparently she figured they used tape to make a mummy (apparently the white stuff looked like tape to her!).  I didn’t want to tell her those were bandages – because then we would have never been able to get a Band-Aid on her ever again!

This conversation somehow changed into a discussion on how Uncle Bob was going to become a vampire because he had been bitten by a bat (See Bats and Zombies).  I get to blame this one on my daughter who had put Lizzie to bed and sat down to watch one of her favorite shows – True Blood.  Lizzie knows that Uncle Bob had been bitten because we make fun of Bob (Now known as Bat Boy) every chance we get.  Lizzie has never seen the Twilight type of vampires (thank goodness!) – so she doesn’t think Uncle Bob will sparkle in the sunlight – just blow up!  We have calmed her down about that one and reminded her that she has actually seen Uncle Bob in the daylight – and he is still all in one piece.

I do find this interesting that Lizzie would be worried about Mummies and her Uncle Bob the Vampire – when one of her favorite movies is The Corpse Bride.  It must be the wedding dress in that movie – so if we put a mummy or Uncle Bob in a wedding dress everything should be fine  – except maybe for Uncle Bob!

10 responses »

  1. Oh dear what a calamity! Small children do see weird things in something perfectly innocent. Their little minds must be very confused..

    I haven’t seen you for a couple of days Katie and I missed you so am happy to see you back again

  2. Oh dear what a calamity! Small children do see weird things in something perfectly innocent. Their little minds must be very confused..

    I haven’t seen you for a couple of days Katie and I missed you so am happy to see you back again

    • Been so busy haven’t had time to sit in front of computer like I usually do. I’m trying to get ready for a conference where I have to speak at 5 separate sessions — so lots to prepare!

  3. Kids and their imagination! However, when I read “Interview With a Vampire” when I was about 19, I swear I thought for weeks I was being turned into one. Even got two pimples on my neck where I thought I had been bitten — talk about psychosomatic overreacting!

  4. Pingback: Dreamcatchers & Vindication « Pages from my Crazy Life

Leave a Reply

