Like Mother – Like Son

Standard
Winning the faceoff can be the key to some str...

Bob's New Passion

When I started this journey in the blogosphere, I told my children and my hubby that I was finally going to start writing in earnest and put it out there for people to read.  I had threatened to do this many times and so I don’t think my family took me very seriously.  Then, the PostADay 2011 Challenge came along and the flurry of stories began!  Not only was I writing – but I was writing every day and it was usually something about my crazy bunch – and worst yet – people were actually reading my stories! 

Now, I was really excited by this and all puffed up because people from all over the world were commenting on my little rantings and ravings (which is terribly exciting) – but I found that my family was very rarely venturing out onto my blog to see what I was writing.

They knew I was writing and that I was writing about them.  After all,  it posted to Facebook (which surprisingly enough, they are all my ‘friends’), their friends would tell them about the article – and of course, I would ask them if they had read it.  In their defense, they had already lived the story and probably heard it a hundred times at various family gatherings – but I will admit I was a little hurt that they didn’t actually read my blog – after all – I had read everything they had ever written from kindergarten through college.  It seemed only fair that they should read some of my stuff!

Even Bob (my son), who is an aspiring writer, very rarely read my blog.  I was truly hurt – especially since Bob has been the inspiration of so many of my stories – and besides – where the heck does he think he got that writing skill??  I thought that if I could get Bob to write a blog of his own, he might realize that he should read some of my blogs – if nothing else in rebuttal of my version of the events.  Bob always told me that he wasn’t interested in blogging – he would save his writing for his ‘great American novel’ – which I’m pretty sure only exists in his mind.

Well, the day has finally come – my vindication is at hand.  Bob and his friends have decided to start their own blog!  Yes – he has come over to my side of the fence and start writing and ‘putting it out there’ for others to read.  No more hiding, no more hoarding of his talent!  Of course, he is not writing the same type of stuff I do (that would be just plain weird) – he is writing about sports – from a comical point of view. 

What spurred this development?  I would like to say it was my influence, but the fact is that he is a HUGE NBA basketball fan – and there isn’t going to be any this year (at least for the time being) – so he and a couple of friends decided to not only pick another sport – but to write about it as it compares to basketball – and what better sport to do that than … Hockey?  Yes, Hockey.  Bob knows absolutely nothing about hockey – but apparently he is willing to learn – and he has friends to help him – and the entire world to comment on his craziness.  He is going to have a great time – better than he had when he actually played a sport (See Play Ball).

Maybe Bob will carry this on to other sports as their seasons come around – which would make him … wait for it… A Man for All Seasons (he would be so proud of me that I got that literary reference in there!).

If you would like to read some funny stuff, as well as other commentaries about hockey – just go to his blog – What the Hell Is Icing?– and make sure tell him that his mother sent you.  (http://whatthehellisicing.com)

6 responses »

  1. Okay Katie I had a peek and rang your praises. I am sure that Bob’s Blog will be very successful to those who are sport orientated, which is not me!
    It seems that we all have the same problem in trying to get reader support from our families. I just do not understand why..if the boot was on the other foot..I know that I would support my daughters in whatever they did so why can’t they support me!

    love P

  2. ANY OPROTUNITY TO EMBARASS A FAMILY PERSON IS OF GREAT CALLING IN LIFE THAT GOD GAVE US THIS CALLING TO DO SO. YUOR FULFILLING HIS GIFT BY GIVEING LAUGHTER TO OTHERS AND MAKEING THE BLOOD RUSH TO YOUR SONS FACE , CAUSEING A NATURAL “BLUSH”!!!!

Leave a Reply

