Are New Year’s Resolutions Really Necessary?

Standard
English: Two New Year's Resolutions postcards

Two New Year’s Resolutions postcards (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Every year people spend time deciding on at least one New Year’s resolution and there are a few who make a list longer than Santa’s naughty and nice lists!

 

Every year, if you believe the statistics – most people give up on their resolutions by February 1st.  I myself have rarely made it past noon on January 1st!  Heck – there are those who resolve not to make any more resolutions – so they didn’t even make it to the end of the sentence!

 

So – why do we make New Year’s resolutions?  Aren’t we supposed to be avoiding setting ourselves up for failure?   We generally don’t make promises we can’t keep to other people, we encourage our children to set realistic goals – and yet at one time of the year, our brains completely go crazy and starting setting goals and expectations that it has no intention of keeping!

 

I understand that we are goal-driven people – and that most of us need something to strive towards – but why on New Year’s Eve?  I’ve noticed that if I set up a goal any other time of the year, I am much more apt to follow through.  Maybe it’s the lack of pressure to succeed or  — maybe it is the lack of the expectation to fail.

 

I can say that I’m not going to make resolution for this New Year – but that is a resolution!  So, in the spirit of the season, I have decided to follow through with the resolution I made last New Year’s Eve – now, if I could only remember what that was…

 

One response »

  1. That’s exactly what I do all the time: set myself up for failure.

    But I understand why people make them. We kind of have it in the back of our minds that we can do it we can do it, but sometimes it turns out — we can not. It’s good to have self-motivation though.

    Interesting blog post! You’ve gained a new follower. I’m new around here, by the way, so I would love to make some friends and fellow blog-buddies, please visit my page anytime!

    Happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

