Dreams and the Olympics

Standard

Dreams

When I was a young girl and I watched the Winter Olympics, I would dream of doing the things I saw the athletes doing –

  • I dreamed of being an ice skater – but I realized that I didn’t really like the cold and I wasn’t very good at ice skating.
  • I dreamed of skiing downhill at the speed of light – and then I realized that I didn’t really like going that fast and was not nearly fearless enough – and I really didn’t like the cold.
  • I dreamed of flying off a ski jump and soaring through the air (even before they FINALLY allowed women to do so this year) – and then I realized that I was extremely afraid of heights and would probably throw up as I flew off the edge – and I really didn’t like the cold.

I decided to wait for the Summer Olympics (which used to be in the same year as the Winter Olympics) and start dreaming again –

  • I dreamed of being a swimmer and racing against the best – and then I realized that I pretty much swam like a rock.
  • I dreamed of diving off the high dive and making a huge splash – and then I realized the whole height thing again – and that I swim like a rock.
  • I dreamed of being a gymnast – and then I realized that I was already twice as tall as any of the competitors – and there was the whole height and fearlessness thing again.

So – if I couldn’t dream of being IN the Olympics – then what is the whole point of the DREAMS of the Olympics?  By dreaming about the possibilities of being in the Olympics made me open my mind the possibilities and potential of my own life – what was I really good at?  What were my strengths?  Where could I excel out and be outstanding?

The Olympics made me look at myself and SEE the best things about me – not the fact that I didn’t like the cold or couldn’t ice skate or ski – or that I wasn’t a good swimmer and was way too big for gymnastics.

The Olympics showed me that ANYTHING is possible if you work at it and you apply yourself fully – and most of all if you BELIEVE IN YOURSELF.

I will never be an Olympian in the water, on the ice, on the snow or in the gym — but all Olympians have inspired me to work for what I want and to be excellent at everything I do – and that dreams move us forward towards the goals we set for ourselves.

Leave a Reply

