I Don’t Want to be a Doctor

Standard
My daughter, Becky, the nurse using her 'doctor's stethoscope' in a clinic in the Dominican Republic

My daughter, Becky, the nurse using her ‘doctor’s stethoscope’ in a clinic in the Dominican Republic

This is all I have to say to the obviously ill-informed women of The View concerning their remark about Miss Colorado in her nurse’s ‘costume’ with her ‘doctor’s stethoscope’ – when I asked my daughter, Becky who is an oncology nurse, why she didn’t become a doctor – she is smart enough and has a wonderful bedside manner – this was her answer –

“I don’t want to be a doctor. I never wanted to be a doctor – and most nurses are offended when asked this question. We have a special calling to be a nurse – to be the person who holds another’s hand at their worst moments and their best; to be the person who watches over a patient to make sure everything is working just right; to have the joy of walking a healthy person out of the hospital and to have the privilege of holding a person’s hand when they leave this world. I don’t want to be a doctor – I want to be a nurse so I can really make a difference in every person’s care.”

Becky recently received accolades from a cancer patient’s family, not because she used her ‘doctor’s stethoscope’ to listen to their loved one who was dying – but because she used her heart to really hear what that patient needed most, which was someone to listen, someone to understand – and sometimes to sing a lullaby to bring a little peace.

Leave a Reply

