Homework

Standard

As I sit here with my granddaughter as she does her homework, I have come to the realization that homework NEVER, EVER goes away! I thought when I finished college, there would never be any more homework – but boy was I wrong.

Homework is a sneaky little monster because it doesn’t go away after you are done with school, it just changes to another type of nuisance. When you become an adult homework comes in the form of housework, laundry, dishes and worst of all – paying bills! It never goes away!

And you might say – well, that’s not homework because no one is grading you – but you are wrong! If you don’t do your housework, your neighbors (and possibly spouse) judge you and make comments – maybe not with a red pen but definitely with a pointed remark. If you don’t do the laundry, your children’s teachers and friends – and possibly relatives will definitely give you a poor grade on your personal hygiene as well as those for whom you are responsible. Dishes – seriously – if you don’t do the dishes, you will get your feedback in the form of remarks from the family about always eating on paperplates.

Of course, the hardest taskmaster for homework at the bills you have to pay – and let’s face it – failing at that results in no power, no water, no food – and yes – no house.

And we haven’t even touched on the homework that gives us our paycheck – those projects we bring home from work so we can keep our job and even move up the corporate ladder. This one is very obvious – the person who grades this is our boss – and any other management personnel who have access or a stake in your work. This one is probably the most noticeable ‘adult’ homework we get in our lives.

Homework never goes away – but I’m not going to ruin that aspect of adulthood for my granddaughter who constantly says – well, at least I won’t have to do this when I grow up! She needs to have something to look forward to!

Leave a comment